Undoing the sub-mediocre

My headline today is supposed to mean: There is quite a bit in my house done by previous owners that was less than good enough. However, while I’m fixing bad workmanship, I’m not going overboard. I’m certainly not putting the best-of-the-best into my house. It simply wouldn’t make sense financially. But my boyfriend and I are putting the best of our elbow grease into it. We’re doing the best we know how, and sometimes I call in the professionals.

electrical outlet

REALLY!??!!

Check out this electrical outlet in the guest bedroom, for example. This is how all the outlets were in that room. As I was repainting the room, you could tell it had been painted many different colors in the past. But don’t you think this is the very highest level of laziness, to just paint over the outlets to the point you can’t use them?

I think it’s despicable. I called in the electrician, who has replaced many of these, and installed them the right side up, to boot.

Also, I believe it was Christmas Eve 2010 when I painted many of my closets. The living room closet was the most gratifying. You can see the closet here, closed of course. I didn’t get before and after photos, which I’m still angry about today. But I do believe that closet had never been repainted since 1964. Coating it with fresh paint was akin to… well… something I can’t compare it to now, but just a whole new feeling of refreshment and rejuvenation. Ahhhh….

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    eva626 said,

    my parents love home improvement projects…good to see others doing the same…do you watch HG tv? that used to be my favorite channel before I got addicted to the food network


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

